Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

514U7MT9OIL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsburys Children’s USA

Release Date: May 3, 2106

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


Review2

What can I say that won’t spoil this entire book? OMG! I have been waiting for this release ever since I finished ACOTAR and I devoured this book in one sitting. It has taken me awhile to write a review because I have been in a huge slump.

Before I get into it, let me just say that I love the fact that Sarah picked up right where we were left off at the end of ACOTAR. It made it easier for me to remember without having to do a re-read, and I truly appreciated that.

We left off with Feyre defeating Amarantha and going back to the Spring Court with Tamlin… their happily ever after now seems to be much further away after the trauma they endured at Under the Mountain. I’m not sure where Sarah was going with these characters, but all I did know was that I NEEDED Rhys to call in on his bargain he made with Feyre. I knew from the moment they met that they had some insane chemistry and I wanted to see if anything would come of it during ACOMAF. Oh boy did I get what I wanted… AND SO MUCH MORE! I won’t go into detail just in case there’s someone out there that hasn’t read the series yet, but let me tell you… book two blew my mind. I’m shocked I have a brain left.

We are finally able to see a side to Rhys that he doesn’t display in front of anyone. He’s literally perfection, and I’m honestly sad that he’s a fictional character. Being able to finally dig deep into the depths of what is Rhys opened my eyes to a completely new person. There’s so much more to his character than I realized and you’re given a peek into the window of his soul. Do fae even have souls? Anyway… you get the point.

Feyre had a lot to overcome in book two. That’s no surprise considering what she had to go through to free everyone in Prythian from the clutches of Amarantha. Tamlin is completely unsure of how to handle her once they get back to the Spring Court, and his overprotective alpha male attitude does not settle well with Feyre. You’re able to watch Feyre really grow in book two. She becomes stronger in many different aspects and begins to mature in front of your eyes.

You end up seeing a side of Tamlin you probably never expected. I was shocked at first, but after remembering certain scenes in ACOTAR and some in ACOMAF I realized we had been getting hints of the real him all along. I don’t want to spoil it, but Tamlin is not at all what he seems to be.

I truly loved the character development that happened in ACOMAF. You’re introduced to new characters and even they developed into great beings by the end. You’re so drawn into their lives that you feel like you’re a part of them.

I am going to be counting down the days for book three. Bring it on Maas!


My Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

TOP TEN TUESDAY

I haven’t participated in a Top Ten Tuesday in quite some time, but I’m trying to get back on top of things again so here it goes… Many thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for hosting this awesome list. It is something I really look forward to participating in every week.

I know I’m a day late, but I was really looking forward to participating in this weeks theme and I didn’t have time to get my post up yesterday. This weeks theme is based on books that I picked up on a whim. I have done this many times before, but here are some of the best that I have found.


51-BpUery9L

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

I picked this book up in an airport over four years ago, and I’m so happy that I did. The Language of Flowers is unlike any other book I have read before. It was a refreshing read, and Vanessa’s writing is impeccable. After all of these years this book has still stuck with me and I recommend it to anyone and everyone that likes reading women’s fiction.


8667848

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

This book was so out of the realm of what I usually read that I’m shocked I ever picked it up. I was living in Bahrain at the time and while I was at the mall I came across A Discovery of Witches while in one of the only small bookstores. The only thing that really drew me in was the fact that it was about witches and the paranormal. I have never been a history buff, and there’s A LOT of history in this book considering the main character is a historian. I am SO HAPPY I chose to buy this and take it home. I now have the entire trilogy signed on my bookshelf.


Crank(hopkins)

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

I happened to find Crank while browsing Barnes & Noble one day. I typically like to browse the YA section to see if any covers will pop out at me. I saw Crank and became instantly intrigued. I took it home and COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. Ellen Hopkins became my new instant favorite author.


510Db2yGijL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

This is a more recent release and it had A LOT of hype surrounding it. I was very hesitant to read this, but picked it up on a whim one day and didn’t put it down until I was finished. I suffered a MAJOR book hangover and I’m highly anticipating the second release, Broken Prince. You can check out my review here.


51oa4Mcn6WL._SX318_BO1,204,203,200_

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

I picked up Maybe Someday a few years ago without knowing what I was getting myself into. I saw it at my local library and just had to take it home with me. I loved it so much that my library almost didn’t get its copy back. Not only did it stick with me until now, but it inspired me so much that the title is now my blog name.


18246727

Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

I saw the cover of this book on Amazon one day and thought to myself, “What kind of cover is that? Is that some kind of BDSM book?” To be completely honest, I was completely turned off by the cover. What I didn’t know was what lied inside of those pages. Tarryn Fisher is known for writing about villains. Oh boy, was Mud Vein no different… It was a bit slow, but once I got sucked in I found myself completely immersed in the story. I now recommend it to anyone looking for a dark and meaningful read.


51VFPLNjadL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

The Breakable Vow by Kathryn Ann Clarke

I have not thought about The Breakable Vow in YEARS, and I’m so happy that this list reminded me of it again. I found this at a Barnes & Noble in Arizona and I fell in love with the story. At the time I was into a lot of teen pregnancy books, and this satisfied my craving and then some. I had never heard of the author before, but the description blew me away. I have read it and re-read it multiple times and will probably do so until the end of time.


20348781

Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry

I remember when I discovered Brittainy C. Cherry… I was on vacation in Phuket, Thailand and I wanted a student/teacher romance to fill my time when it was pouring rain one day. I had delicious Thai food delivered to my room and as I looked out at the ocean I sat and lost myself in Loving Mr. Daniels. It was my first ever student/teacher romance and I loved it. I also found a new author that I adore.


6568158

Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Browne

I remember finding this book like it was yesterday…. I was in search of a new book and was browsing random titles in the fiction section looking for a new thrilling zombie read when I came across this book. I immediately picked it up, purchased it, and took it home. It was witty and romantic and unlike any other zombie book I have read. Want to join the fight for zombie rights? Then pick this book up!


10507293

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I just moved to Bahrain and as a single stay-at-home mom I got lost in the world of Goodreads. I came across The Selection and finished the first two books in one night. I had the most killer headache from reading on my iPad all night long, but it was so worth it. This became my new favorite YA series, and I’m sad knowing that it has officially ended.

Book Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

510Db2yGijL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Paper Princess

Author: Erin Watt

Publisher: TBD

Release Date: April 3, 2016

Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance

Synopsis: From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees


Review2

Before I get to my review let me just say that this book is NOT for all young adults. It contains scenes that I would deem for a more mature teenager, say 16 or older…

My oh my… The MASSIVE book hangover I have right now cannot be topped! I thought ACOTAR put me through the spinner, but man…. there is no book out there that can top Paper Princess at this point. Due to the insane hype about this book I was little hesitant to read it. I tend to read books that are praised so highly for certain aspects only to be let down later on when they don’t meet my expectations. I was definitely concerned when starting this, but you know what got me? This one quote:

“This generation’s Cruel Intentions.”- Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

That right there is what drew me in. Cruel Intentions happens to be a favorite movie of mine, and wow…. Paper Princess really is this generation’s Cruel Intentions. TO THE T!

Now let me get on to the characters…

Ella…. dear Ella. I LOVE HER. She is yet another strong female character that I have encountered, and she happens to be one of the best. She’s a very tough 17 year old girl that has gone through more than I have during the 26 years on this Earth. With a strong head on her shoulders she is able to focus on what’s most important… her education and her future. Nothing will get in this girl’s way, and I admire her for her tenacity.

Reed Royal. What in the hell can I say about Reed Royal that doesn’t make me sound like a complete perv? HE’S SO HOT! I feel odd saying that considering I’m about 8-9 years older than his character, but he’s fictional… so that makes it okay, right? ANYWAY… HOT! So steaming hot that I’m shocked my kindle didn’t catch on fire. Did I also mention he can be a complete and utter jerk? Yes. He’s one of those… Another Travis Maddox. Or better yet… another Sebastian Valmont. The thing of it is… I see both sides of him. The mean, cruel, asshole that acts like he doesn’t give two shits about anyone. Then I also see the concerned, caring, overprotective brother. He’s literally the product of his environment and unfortunately he and his four (YES, FOUR!) brothers were given the opportunity to run rampant their teenage lives.

I typically do not like drama, but it is entertaining when it happens at someone else’s expense. Knowing these are fictional characters I feel no guilt or shame for sitting with a bag of popcorn while the book was unfolding. Between the back stabbing, the lies, and the steamy romance this book is PURE GOLD! I’m highly anticipating Broken Prince.


My Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink

Apologies Everyone!

So as some of you may have noticed, I have been fairly absent for the last week or more. Unfortunately, my finals were absolutely brutal and I was unable to post anything during that time. I haven’t been able to keep up with my posts, so I’m sorry if things are a little whacky right now. It’s the start of a new mod for me, but I hope my classes won’t be too difficult this time around. I’m so far behind on my book reviews, so you will probably see quite a few over the next coming weeks, but I can’t wait to get back into the groove of things.

 

SO…. What have I been missing? I know there are some AMAZING releases out today. Which one are you looking forward to the most?

I am can’t wait to get my hands on A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas and The Crown by Kiera Cass. Will you be reading anything else?

My Most Anticipated May Releases

I have seen posts like this before, but have never participated in one and I thought I would give it a shot. There are many many many May releases that I’m anticipating, so please bear with me.

 

514U7MT9OIL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_A Court of Mist and Fury

by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s USA

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Why I’m anticipating it: I just finished A Court of Thorns and Roses a few days ago (check out my review here) and fell head over heels in love with the Prythian realm. I’m excited to see what happens between Feyre and Tamlin, and Feyre and Rhysand. I want to know how things in the faerie world will be now that… well I don’t want to spoil it!

 

61sRRcHVfSL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Because I Love You

by Tori Rigby

Release Date: May 17, 2016

Publisher: Blaze Publishing

Eight weeks after sixteen-year-old Andie Hamilton gives her virginity to her best friend, “the stick” says she’s pregnant.

Her friends treat her like she’s carrying the plague, her classmates torture and ridicule her, and the boy she thought loved her doesn’t even care. Afraid to experience the next seven months alone, she turns to her ex-boyfriend, Neil Donaghue, a dark-haired, blue-eyed player. With him, she finds comfort and the support she desperately needs to make the hardest decision of her life: whether or not to keep the baby.

Then a tragic accident leads Andie to discover Neil’s keeping a secret that could dramatically alter their lives, and she’s forced to make a choice. But after hearing her son’s heartbeat for the first time, she doesn’t know how she’ll ever be able to let go.

Why I’m anticipating it: Books like these tend to get looked over a lot, especially by the younger crowd it is geared towards. I, myself, feel like these stories portray a sensitive topic in a realistic light. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first time or your twentieth, whether you get good grades or bad… it CAN happen to you. No one is invincible.

 

51Yvl9VJlZL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_The Crown

by Kiera Cass

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

Why I’m anticipating it: Other than it’s the finale of The Selection series? Because I NEED to find out who Eadlyn picks. The Heir didn’t go as I planned, so I’m curious to see how The Crown is going to play out. This is a favorite series of mine and I’m sad to see it end!

 

51JISfJo1fL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_The Problem With Forever

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: May 17, 2016

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.
Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone–spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of–that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.
It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out–for the people she loves, the life she wants and the truths that need to be heard.

Why I’m anticipating it: It’s Jennifer L. Armentrout… DUH! I have loved Jennifer’s writing for as long as I can remember. This is a book I have been anticipating since she first announced it and I can’t believe the time for it to release is almost here!

 

51ObPoLqOZL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_Ruined

by Amy Tintera

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined—completely lacking any magic—she is determined to get revenge.

Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everything he holds dear, including his son.

The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

Why I’m anticipating it: Another world with a girl enacting revenge on an evil king that took everything from her, but faces the biggest obstacle of all… falling in love. What more can I say? This sounds right up my alley.

 

51VhQyfg10L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Vernal (The Royal Protector Academy 1)

by Randi Cooley Wilson

Release Date: May 25, 2016

Publisher: Secret Garden Productions, LLC

Serena has a bright future etched in stone.
Tristan has a dark past that haunts him.
Together, they have a love that can never be.

Sheltered, and unable to escape her bloodline, Serena St. Michael has spent the last two years training at the Royal Protector Academy. Struggling with a dark past, Tristan Gallagher’s current assignment is to protect a lifetime of secrets. One chance encounter will change everything. Serena must decide if she will follow her heart, forsaking all she’s ever known and risking a future worse than non-existence. Tristan will break every rule to save Serena, even if he can’t keep her. In their world of darkness, one love will ignite an ancient war. When pasts collide with the present, and secrets are revealed, will love be enough? Or will one lie destroy it all? When you’ve hidden behind a mask for so long, would you reveal yourself for love?

Why I’m anticipating it: I’m a sucker for books that take place inside of boarding schools, academies, and the like. I’m taken back to the days of The Vampire Academy and Hex Hall. Oh, how I miss those days. Vernal sounds very promising.


Are you looking forward to any of these releases?

Are there any that I may have missed, but you’re looking forward to?

Sound off in the comments!

Release Blitz + GIVEAWAY: Paper Dolls by Hanna Peach

 

 

Title: Paper Dolls
Author: Hanna Peach
Genre: New Adult Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 24, 2016

Blurb

My life comes down to this. Two faces. One choice.Salem is my twin sister. She loved me. She protected me. She forgave me, even after I failed her. I just got her back after searching for three long, lonely years.

Then there’s Clay. Sweet yet intense and nursing a dark past of his own, he’s all the redemption I don’t deserve. He wants to open me up and know the insides of my soul. I want to let him, but I’m scared he’ll run from what he finds.

But I can’t have them both.

My name is Aria. And today, I must choose. One of the two people I love has to die.


Purchase Links

 

AMAZON US / UK / CA

 


 Excerpt

Prologue

 
In moments like these, everything slowed. Salem always joked that it was life’s way of making sure you didn’t miss the turning points, the important bits. As if gravity sank heavier and heavier with the weight of the moment until the world was too heavy to turn and everyone held their breath.
It certainly felt like that now. My next action, my next word, would change all of our lives.
“Aria,” Clay’s deep voice reached my ears. “Whatever happens…I love you.” The usual assuredness and authority was gone. Instead, strain and hurt had crumpled up and shoved into his throat. Choose me. Save me. Love me.
Before him my life had felt like a stack of old movies; frames missing or out of order, muted crackling sound, flickering and shuttering away, unloved and unseen in an old unused cinema.
Then I found him. Or he found me.
He created a warm shield around me where I could be safe. He coaxed away all my layers and shed all my masks and his love soaked right into my skin, right into the very soul of me. He pulled out the fossil buried inside that had been my heart and breathed life into me.
How could I give up the man I loved? The one who loved me with a fierce and unwavering passion, the man who made me feel like I could defeat demons as long as he was by my side.
Winking in the threads of sunlight piercing through the solemn gray clouds, seed fluff twirled about me like swirling, dancing couples. Spinning around like Salem and I used to do in our backyard, hands clasped together tightly, turning round and round, eyes to the sky, our twin voices giggling and floating into the air like dandelions.
She had been my shield before Clay.
“I’m nothing without you, Aria,” Salem’s voice trembled, desperation leaking into the breaths between her words. Choose me. Need me. Love me.
How could I end her? I just got her back. For so long we shared almost everything, and she protected me. Her whole life had been about protecting me. Because she loved me that much.
How could I turn against her, toss her away like an old broken toy?
But I had to choose.
I could see us now, the three of us making a chain like when I was a kid, folding pieces of colored paper into rectangles, cutting out an arm, a leg, and half a head, and unfurling my new patterns in the light to reveal a line of paper dolls. Clay, Salem and I − we were all just paper dolls in a paper chain, me in the middle, each end pulling tighter and tighter until something had to tear.
Even now as I stare between Clay and Salem, trying to digest our impossible situation, Hope is still there, that terrible pixie, fluttering on my shoulder, whispering.
Maybe it doesn’t have to end this way?
Fuck you, Hope. Here’s the truth.
Nobody is coming.
No one will save us.
And someone isn’t going to make it out of this forest today.
“Choose,” my sister screamed. “It’s either him or me.”
My fingers tightened around my gun in a reflex. This was it. I either ended her. Or destroyed Clay.
I squeezed my eyelids shut for a moment, just for a moment of peace. Just for an instant I could shut out the inevitable, and in this blessed darkness I believed I could conceive a way that both could exist in my life. A way that I could choose Salem and Clay.
You can’t have both.
You tried.
You.
Can’t.
Have.
Both.
Choose now.
But how?
What do you do when someone puts a gun to your head? Clay’s words came back to me, echoing as loud in my mind as if he had just spoken them. You refuse to bend. You push back. You find another way. You take that gun off him and put it back in his face. But you do not give in.
Find another way…
I knew what I had to do. A kind of peace settled on my skin, as delicate as gossamer, as light as silk.
I opened my eyes to a world of bright light until my vision adjusted. The torn and pained faces of the two people I loved came into focus. The only two people I’ve shared air with while we slept, the same two people I’d crawl into Hell to be with, and the only two people I would die for. I forced the ghost of a smile forward.
And turned the gun on myself.

Author Bio

 

Hanna is the bestselling author of the Bound romantic suspense series and the Dark Angel fantasy series. Although she writes in more than one genre she can’t write a book without weaving together a complicated plot and filling it with twists. She writes what she believes: good people can do bad things, ordinary people can do great things, and choose love above everything.

Eternally restless, Hanna has lived in Indonesia, Australia, Germany, Scotland, England, Croatia and Ireland – everything she owns fits into one suitcase. She’s planning her next move with her gorgeous (and understanding) partner right now. If not writing, she can be found wandering a dusty market in Marrakesh or trekking a mountain in Peru, often using her travels as settings in her novels.

To WIN a copy of her next release go to www.hannapeach.com/subscribe.

Author Links

Giveaway

ENTER HERE

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses77493_original

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s USA

Release Date: May 15, 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.


Review2

I’m not entirely sure where to start, so first off I just want to say that this book was FABULOUS! Absolutely positively fabulous. Sarah J. Maas has raised the bar yet again. I didn’t think she would be able to top Throne of Glass, but A Court of Thorns and Roses is my new favorite of hers.

ACOTARMAP

The world that Maas created was amazing. The way she describes Prythian, the Spring Court, Hybern, the mortal lands, and every other place in ACOTAR was fascinating. I was able to picture everything as if I was peeking through a window pane. I could smell the roses in the Spring Court, feel the cold wintery snow in the mortal land, and see the forests that led to Prythian. My imagination ran wild when reading this book. I may be a 26 year old that reads YA to keep up with her youth, but I also read it because I never want my imagination to fade as I get older. Thanks to authors like Sarah J. Maas that will never happen.


014f6717d23a94b5ee5f4b16b3f78738Let me just say that Sarah’s female heroines are perfection. They are the epitome of everything I wish I was. Stubborn. Fierce. Loyal. Hard-headed. Confident. Not only is Feyre all of these things, but deep down she is as fragile as any other person in this world. She has a heart of gold and even though she may put on a brave face she is still very vulnerable. With all of these aspects mixed together it makes connecting with Feyre easy. She is as real to me as the girl that sits next to me in my Pharmacology class. As real as the girl next to me on the bus. SHE IS REAL. Not in the literal sense (even though I wish my favorite characters could come to life), but her humanity is as bright as the burning sun.

 

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno2_1280.pngTamlin. Oh, my sweet Tamlin. Any person with a working brain would fall head over heels in love with Tamlin. He’s completely swoon-worthy and I pictured Chris Hemsworth in my mind every time I pictured him. DROOL! He’s fiercely loyal and does anything and everything he can in his power for not only his people in the Spring Court, but for those dearest to him. Feyre was no exception. I wish there were more men in this world like Tamlin. Not only is he loyal, but he’s protective (not overly alpha-male); charming; exotic;  and although his heart is made of stone it’s as soft as any other on the inside. He’s the light on your perfect Spring day. Tamlin cannot be compared to a Greek God because he’s so much more than that. He’s a man with passion in his faerie soul.

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno1_1280Lucien. We all need a friend and confidant like Lucien. He’s someone that is severely devoted to the ones he cares about the most. He is the perfect emissary for Tamlin, and I couldn’t picture anyone else by his side. They have been through a lot together and Lucien would lay down his life for Tamlin. He’s brutally honest and isn’t afraid to hide who he is. I love people like that. People who are honest even if they know the truth will hurt. He’s overly confident and his ego is quite huge, but it isn’t for naught. Lucien comes off as shallow and sometimes crude, but he definitely has a lot of substance. I really hope I get to learn more of his story because there is a lot of things I would like to know. Plus, Lucien is my new best friend.

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno3_1280.pngRhysand. We don’t get to meet him until much later in the book, but boy is he a treat! We all love to love the “bad boy” or in this case the bad faerie. Rhysand is definitely no exception. Dark. Mysterious. Broody. Insanely good-looking. Every dark desire we have had resides in Rhys. You love to hate him, but you also want him on your good side. I literally pictured Colin O’Donoghue that plays Hook in the show Once Upon a Time. Don’t know who he is? Look him up and you’ll understand why. Dreamy. So so so dreamy. Sinfully delicious and I want MORE RHYS! PLEASE! I know, I know…. You all thought I was in love with Tamlin, but then I met Rhys…. and he stole my heart.

 

 


Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink