Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses77493_original

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s USA

Release Date: May 15, 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.


Review2

I’m not entirely sure where to start, so first off I just want to say that this book was FABULOUS! Absolutely positively fabulous. Sarah J. Maas has raised the bar yet again. I didn’t think she would be able to top Throne of Glass, but A Court of Thorns and Roses is my new favorite of hers.

ACOTARMAP

The world that Maas created was amazing. The way she describes Prythian, the Spring Court, Hybern, the mortal lands, and every other place in ACOTAR was fascinating. I was able to picture everything as if I was peeking through a window pane. I could smell the roses in the Spring Court, feel the cold wintery snow in the mortal land, and see the forests that led to Prythian. My imagination ran wild when reading this book. I may be a 26 year old that reads YA to keep up with her youth, but I also read it because I never want my imagination to fade as I get older. Thanks to authors like Sarah J. Maas that will never happen.


014f6717d23a94b5ee5f4b16b3f78738Let me just say that Sarah’s female heroines are perfection. They are the epitome of everything I wish I was. Stubborn. Fierce. Loyal. Hard-headed. Confident. Not only is Feyre all of these things, but deep down she is as fragile as any other person in this world. She has a heart of gold and even though she may put on a brave face she is still very vulnerable. With all of these aspects mixed together it makes connecting with Feyre easy. She is as real to me as the girl that sits next to me in my Pharmacology class. As real as the girl next to me on the bus. SHE IS REAL. Not in the literal sense (even though I wish my favorite characters could come to life), but her humanity is as bright as the burning sun.

 

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno2_1280.pngTamlin. Oh, my sweet Tamlin. Any person with a working brain would fall head over heels in love with Tamlin. He’s completely swoon-worthy and I pictured Chris Hemsworth in my mind every time I pictured him. DROOL! He’s fiercely loyal and does anything and everything he can in his power for not only his people in the Spring Court, but for those dearest to him. Feyre was no exception. I wish there were more men in this world like Tamlin. Not only is he loyal, but he’s protective (not overly alpha-male); charming; exotic;  and although his heart is made of stone it’s as soft as any other on the inside. He’s the light on your perfect Spring day. Tamlin cannot be compared to a Greek God because he’s so much more than that. He’s a man with passion in his faerie soul.

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno1_1280Lucien. We all need a friend and confidant like Lucien. He’s someone that is severely devoted to the ones he cares about the most. He is the perfect emissary for Tamlin, and I couldn’t picture anyone else by his side. They have been through a lot together and Lucien would lay down his life for Tamlin. He’s brutally honest and isn’t afraid to hide who he is. I love people like that. People who are honest even if they know the truth will hurt. He’s overly confident and his ego is quite huge, but it isn’t for naught. Lucien comes off as shallow and sometimes crude, but he definitely has a lot of substance. I really hope I get to learn more of his story because there is a lot of things I would like to know. Plus, Lucien is my new best friend.

 

tumblr_no8z8gvpbr1ut8szno3_1280.pngRhysand. We don’t get to meet him until much later in the book, but boy is he a treat! We all love to love the “bad boy” or in this case the bad faerie. Rhysand is definitely no exception. Dark. Mysterious. Broody. Insanely good-looking. Every dark desire we have had resides in Rhys. You love to hate him, but you also want him on your good side. I literally pictured Colin O’Donoghue that plays Hook in the show Once Upon a Time. Don’t know who he is? Look him up and you’ll understand why. Dreamy. So so so dreamy. Sinfully delicious and I want MORE RHYS! PLEASE! I know, I know…. You all thought I was in love with Tamlin, but then I met Rhys…. and he stole my heart.

 

 


Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’ve heard a lot of good things about a Court of Thorns and Roses. Was planning to read it some time after catching up with Throne of Glass series but then I hopped onto the Lunar Chronicles train is currently stuck on board of that one right now. So many good books, so little time.

    PS: First time seeing the map of Prythian, thought it was the UK for a moment there. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really looking forward to the next book, A Court of Mist and Fury. It’s definitely a book I’m highly anticipating now. I haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles series yet, but I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile now. I need to get my hands on the first book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

