Book Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

510Db2yGijL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Paper Princess

Author: Erin Watt

Publisher: TBD

Release Date: April 3, 2016

Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance

Synopsis: From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees


Review2

Before I get to my review let me just say that this book is NOT for all young adults. It contains scenes that I would deem for a more mature teenager, say 16 or older…

My oh my… The MASSIVE book hangover I have right now cannot be topped! I thought ACOTAR put me through the spinner, but man…. there is no book out there that can top Paper Princess at this point. Due to the insane hype about this book I was little hesitant to read it. I tend to read books that are praised so highly for certain aspects only to be let down later on when they don’t meet my expectations. I was definitely concerned when starting this, but you know what got me? This one quote:

“This generation’s Cruel Intentions.”- Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

That right there is what drew me in. Cruel Intentions happens to be a favorite movie of mine, and wow…. Paper Princess really is this generation’s Cruel Intentions. TO THE T!

Now let me get on to the characters…

Ella…. dear Ella. I LOVE HER. She is yet another strong female character that I have encountered, and she happens to be one of the best. She’s a very tough 17 year old girl that has gone through more than I have during the 26 years on this Earth. With a strong head on her shoulders she is able to focus on what’s most important… her education and her future. Nothing will get in this girl’s way, and I admire her for her tenacity.

Reed Royal. What in the hell can I say about Reed Royal that doesn’t make me sound like a complete perv? HE’S SO HOT! I feel odd saying that considering I’m about 8-9 years older than his character, but he’s fictional… so that makes it okay, right? ANYWAY… HOT! So steaming hot that I’m shocked my kindle didn’t catch on fire. Did I also mention he can be a complete and utter jerk? Yes. He’s one of those… Another Travis Maddox. Or better yet… another Sebastian Valmont. The thing of it is… I see both sides of him. The mean, cruel, asshole that acts like he doesn’t give two shits about anyone. Then I also see the concerned, caring, overprotective brother. He’s literally the product of his environment and unfortunately he and his four (YES, FOUR!) brothers were given the opportunity to run rampant their teenage lives.

I typically do not like drama, but it is entertaining when it happens at someone else’s expense. Knowing these are fictional characters I feel no guilt or shame for sitting with a bag of popcorn while the book was unfolding. Between the back stabbing, the lies, and the steamy romance this book is PURE GOLD! I’m highly anticipating Broken Prince.


My Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink

One thought on “Book Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Leave a Reply

