Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

514U7MT9OIL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsburys Children’s USA

Release Date: May 3, 2106

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


Review2

What can I say that won’t spoil this entire book? OMG! I have been waiting for this release ever since I finished ACOTAR and I devoured this book in one sitting. It has taken me awhile to write a review because I have been in a huge slump.

Before I get into it, let me just say that I love the fact that Sarah picked up right where we were left off at the end of ACOTAR. It made it easier for me to remember without having to do a re-read, and I truly appreciated that.

We left off with Feyre defeating Amarantha and going back to the Spring Court with Tamlin… their happily ever after now seems to be much further away after the trauma they endured at Under the Mountain. I’m not sure where Sarah was going with these characters, but all I did know was that I NEEDED Rhys to call in on his bargain he made with Feyre. I knew from the moment they met that they had some insane chemistry and I wanted to see if anything would come of it during ACOMAF. Oh boy did I get what I wanted… AND SO MUCH MORE! I won’t go into detail just in case there’s someone out there that hasn’t read the series yet, but let me tell you… book two blew my mind. I’m shocked I have a brain left.

We are finally able to see a side to Rhys that he doesn’t display in front of anyone. He’s literally perfection, and I’m honestly sad that he’s a fictional character. Being able to finally dig deep into the depths of what is Rhys opened my eyes to a completely new person. There’s so much more to his character than I realized and you’re given a peek into the window of his soul. Do fae even have souls? Anyway… you get the point.

Feyre had a lot to overcome in book two. That’s no surprise considering what she had to go through to free everyone in Prythian from the clutches of Amarantha. Tamlin is completely unsure of how to handle her once they get back to the Spring Court, and his overprotective alpha male attitude does not settle well with Feyre. You’re able to watch Feyre really grow in book two. She becomes stronger in many different aspects and begins to mature in front of your eyes.

You end up seeing a side of Tamlin you probably never expected. I was shocked at first, but after remembering certain scenes in ACOTAR and some in ACOMAF I realized we had been getting hints of the real him all along. I don’t want to spoil it, but Tamlin is not at all what he seems to be.

I truly loved the character development that happened in ACOMAF. You’re introduced to new characters and even they developed into great beings by the end. You’re so drawn into their lives that you feel like you’re a part of them.

I am going to be counting down the days for book three. Bring it on Maas!


My Rating: 5 Stars Flowers Pink

Leave a Reply

